Neruda.jpeg The study of Latin America at British universities was given an important impetus in the 1960s by the recommendations of the Parry Report, which led to the establishment at Oxford of the Latin American Centre.  Several members of the Sub-faculty of Spanish at Oxford had for some time already been active in research into and teaching of the literatures of the sub-continent: R.D.F. Pring-Mill was to go on to become an internationally respected expert on the works of Pablo Neruda and the Nicaraguan Ernesto Cardenal, and C.A. Jones to publish on, among others, the Argentine essayist and politician Domingo Faustino Sarmiento.

Thanks to finance from the Parry Committee, in 1968 D.P. Gallagher became the first University Lecturer in Latin American Literature at Oxford, later to be succeeded by C.H. Griffin.  Several other members of the present Sub-faculty are specialists in Spanish American Literature, namely Robin Fiddian, Dominic Moran and Edwin Williamson, and all permanent post-holders  teach some Latin-American literature or language.  Many leading writers and academics from Latin America have visited Oxford to lecture or to receive honours; some of the most distinguished of the former have been Jorge Luis Borges, Carlos Fuentes, Manuel Puig, Mario Vargas Llosa and the Nobel Prize winner, Octavio Paz.  Honorary doctorates were conferred on Pablo Neruda (pictured) in 1965 and on Jorge Luis Borges in 1971.